The Matrix

Back in 1999 I wasn’t able to get the chance to watch one of the most promising films that would later define the visual, texture and design of the films of the next generation; I’m talking about The Matrix. As I try to recall I don’t really remember why I wasn’t able to watch it, maybe I was too busy playing Pokemon at the time, maybe I was too busy at grade school playing Pokemon at the time, I don’t know, all I can come up with, even though I didn’t watch the film back then, is the infamous scene “Bullet Time” where it was popularly known to be the most influential scene in the movie.

Now the movie, The Matrix, wherein Keanu Reeves became a household name, wherein scenes like the “Construction” wherein Morpheus explains to Neo what is reality and what is the Matrix, with the setting of a plain white background depicting the void, two comfortable chairs, and a 1970’s television set that showed “reality”. The scene where Neo gets shot by the agent and he touches his chest to check if it’s real, if he’s bleeding and connected to that the “Deus ex Machina” kiss of Trinity to revive Neo and scoop the agents to kingdom come, also the greater known scene the “Bullet Time” where Neo would dodge incoming bullets by suspending his body in thin air with his feet planted on the ground would later be immortalized forever embedded in the minds of viewers. The film is basically about finding the truth behind what you perceive is the “truth”. Neo took a leap of faith to find out about that truth when he joined Morpheus, that all he knows is not real; it’s all called the Matrix.

Now as I watch the film a couple of other films came to mind, mainly because of it’s design and structure, the narrative and delivery, a couple of allusions I would like to stress out now these films may have came out before or after its time; Number One, “Alice in Wonderland”, now I know this is a fairytale and all but the scene where Morpheus gives Neo the blue and red pill was exactly the same in the film, not to mention that he stresses if he takes the red pill, he will show him how far the rabbit hole goes, and on a side note, I’d take the red pill, red pill any day. Two, “Nightmare in Elm Street”, now mainly because when they enter the Matrix and they die, they die for real, as said by Freddy Krueger. Three and Four, “Eternal Sunshine for the Spotless Mind” and “Inception”, the idea of being in a resting position in the real world and entering the subconscious mind basically reminds me of these films, wherein you basically lie down and let your brain do the action, mind games. Five and Six, “Terminator” and “Akira” cyberpunk, post-apocalyptic and artificial intelligence, war machines trying to eradicated humanity from the surface of the earth, definitely reminds me of those classics. Lastly, and I have to squeeze this one in, “Resident Evil”, mainly because the agents looked a lot like Albert Wesker with the coats and shades and all.

The past decade owed a lot to this film the Matrix, for it was mind blowing, ground breaking and it paved way to the cinematic progressions we see on our screens today. Quite honestly seeing this film now really not made me feel like it was filmed twelve years ago, the cinematic transgression was so advance for it’s time. On an endnote I found myself sitting through the credits headbanging to Rage Against the Machine’s “Wake Up”. 

 Now then, were you reading this blog or are looking at that woman in the red dress?

 

Leave a Reply

