Top Ten Songs of The 90’s

Starting off the Top Ten List, today I list down my Top Ten most favorite songs from the golden years, the smell of honey in the ray of sunshines, the decade that would later define who I am, who I’m not, and who I’d like to become. The days when I was still a perfect child, a happy person, a happy boy, waking up early in the morning is the key to happiness, those people who know of the 6 o’clock sunbeam will never know sadness, often I exercised this and then afterwards taking a nap after lunch to gather energy for the afternoon activities such as “Langit Lupa”, “Agawan Base”, “Teks”, “Pog”, “Trumpo” and a whole lot of stuff that we would play but that’s all I’m going to say about that, don’t want to spoil the story, I want to save my yearning and love for the best 10 years of my life in another post. This list is about that era, specifically about it’s music, strictly foreign music, this is the first part of the Top Ten Songs of the 90’s. Now I picked these songs because of it’s meaning, structure, lyrical composition, guitar riffs, bass lines, drum beats and patterns and all in all it’s musical tune.

Number Ten

“Closing Time” by Semisonic, okay I’m not going to be bitter and say “I don’t need a stupid movie to know a beautiful song”, and with that I thank “Friends With Benefits” for making other people know of this wonderful song, at the very least they were aware of music. Released on March of 1998 the song just uses a chemistry of post-grunge and alternative rock if you’ll listen to it’s structure G D Am C chord progression, the piano intro, the outro guitar riff and lyrics is a definite staple to an 90’s song, my favorite lines from this song are; “You don’t have to go home, but you can’t stay here” very compelling, “Gather up your jackets, move it to the exits, I hope you have found a friend” makes the song sound like it’s about hanging out in bars really but the composition was inspired by a child to be born in the world, and lastly “Every new beginning comes from some other beginnings end” and I do not even want to touch those words, perfectly put up together.

Number Nine

“My Name Is Jonas” by Weezer, released in May of 1994 a very heartwarming song of kinship, with the musical structure of finger picking and then sudden burst of distortion in verses, the very staple sound of the alternative music that was popularized in the 90’s. Lines from the song that are meaningful are; “Come sit next to me, pour yourself some tea”, “Got a box full of your toys, fresh out of batteries, but they’re still making noise”, these phrases are a give away that the song is about childhood, “Choo-choo train left right on time, a ticket cost only your mind” the vast imagination of children, “Things were better then, once but never again” as they grew up they realized the beauty of the past, of childhood.

Number Eight

“1979” by Smashing Pumpkins, from the album “Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness”, nice play of words, play the song, hear the first few bars, the intro drum fill, the guitar riff and bass progression of E♭ fifth to E Major accompanied by the melody line all through out the song, plus the lines; “On a live wire right up off the street,
You and I should meet” addressing a friend, “We were sure we’d never see an end to it all” about their youth and not really caring or thinking about the future, just enjoying the moment, “And we don’t know, just where our bones will rest, to dust I guess, forgotten and absorbed to the earth below” one of the crew of the youths must have bee thinking for a split moment were their lives will go, but they’ll never know until they get there.

Leave a Reply

