Top Ten Songs of The 90’s

Here it is folks, the Finale, down to our last two songs in the list. Worth the wait, and I’m not going to keep you waiting because at number two is..

Number Two

“Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana, released September 1991 from the album “Nevermind” the perfect song that would describe 90’s music, grunge, and would later define the sound of stereos and cassettes, the song that is considered as a classic by many, and the legacy that Kurt Cobain has left behind. A mix of highs and lows, soft and loud, very dynamic composition, and lyrical virtuoso. The pattern of the songs highs lows and mid would later be and inspiration to other artists in composing a song, as stated by the former drummer of Nirvana, Dave Grohl was inspired by Kurt Cobains’ style in music that he would later try to incorporate his works sound to it. The song is of F minor key that composes of four power chords strummed in a syncopated time signature, the notable intro is the songs riff played twice until the distortion kicks in and the rest of the band joins altogether, the verses would be soft and quiet until the build up in the pre-choruses and then the choruses would be big and loud. Despite the song having such great lines on lyrics this was actually hard to hear due to the fact that Kurt Cobains’ voice is gutterly and slurred being the reason for it not be be heard properly but that was actually what fans like the most about it, the singing style. If I were to put my favorite lines from the song I’d site the whole song honestly, lyrical genius Cobain was, but to site a line; “I’m worst at what I do best, and for this gift I feel blessed” I was mind blown after learning that, and of course the infamous chorus “With the lights out, it’s less dangerous, here we are now, entertain us” I feel that this line represents teenage perception or idealism that needs no further explanation that I feel if you’ve been through or are going through teenage years you know that somewhere in you the song remains it’s meaning, and it’s known for a fact that the song is one of the most greatest rock songs of all time. One of the most admired and missed artist who joined the “27 Club” Kurt Cobain, Nirvana and their music will always remain an institute of the 90’s.

Number One

“Champagne Supernova” by Oasis, released May of 1996, a seven minute anthem and closing track from their album “(What’s the Story) Morning Glory?” often played in their concerts with a 2 minute outro instrumental. The song is of A Major key that descends in pattern, not to mention the two note earworm after the first chorus and the infamous guitar lick that I might say would rival that of “Sweet Child O’ Mine”. This song definitely will be my most memorable song of the 90’s for its mood and tune not to mention the words speak clearly about my childhood, how much of a good time I had back then. Although in all honesty the most vivid of all songs that I remember from 1995-96 was “Stop Crying Your Heart Out” by Oasis as well, I just saw it’s music video very often and poof! that’s how it came to be, but “Champagne Supernova” I would say is an anthem for us, for the 90’s populace who lived in the time of “Michael Jordan”, “The Lion King” and many other memories that goes with it. Critics and fans alike would dare say that this song is Oasis’ “Magnun Opus”, their “Bohemian Rhapsody”, their “Stairway to Heaven”, or in other words my child, their ultimate work of art. I recommend you listen to this song if you still haven’t, better listen to it’s live version in Earl’s Court 1995 undoubtedly their best performance of the song, you should go listen, it’s cheaper than LSD, and legal. Psychedelic Rock man, starts out with the brothers Liam and Noel calling names at each other and then Noel Gallagher calling the song “Champange Super-Ugly-Cunt” priceless man, then he plays the A major riff, 9 minutes of bliss. Noel Gallagher, the author of the song was once asked in an interview about the undecipherable lyrics “Slowly walking down the hall, faster than a cannonball ” from the song and he replied,‘I don’t fucking know. But are you telling me, when you’ve got 60,000 people singing it, they don’t know what it means? It means something different to every one of them.’ Kind of like how it means to me, reminds me of childhood were me and my friends would run across the hall of school, and quite frankly if I was a teenager in the 90’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” would have been the Top One on this list, but I was a child, and that’s how it was, that’s how it’s going to be. My topmost favorite epic lines from the song; “How many special people change? How many lives are living strange?” these words never meant anything to me until I grew up and missed the people whom I’ve met before and left behind. “Wake up the dawn and ask her why, a dreamer dreams she never dies, wipe that tear away now from your eyes” I still don’t know what it means to me but it does magical things. “You and I, we live and die, the world still spinning round we don’t know why, why, why, why ,why” very bold statement made me think deep even when I was a child. “Where were you while we were getting high” son of a bitch I have never been in awe of such nifty word play, arguably my most favorite line in a song and this phrase I dedicate to those who missed the 90’s, where were you? Ever wonder why there isn’t any 2000’s tribute? And last but definitely not the least, the lines from the chorus, “Someday you will find me, caught beneath the landslide, in a Champagne Supernova in the sky” it doesn’t get any better than that folks, 

Leave a Reply

